Deprecated: Hook custom_css_loaded is deprecated since version jetpack-13.5! Use WordPress Custom CSS instead. Jetpack no longer supports Custom CSS. Read the documentation to learn how to apply custom styles to your site: in /home/thetruthjackson/public_html/wp-includes/functions.php on line 6078
Cage Combat 19 Recap - The Official Website of Mike "The Truth" Jackson

Cage Combat 19 Recap

Garcia Promotions returned to the Humble Civic Center Friday night, for Cage Combat 19. The event had 15 scheduled fights, but only 14 took place. During pre-fight physicals, the doctor noticed a severe burn on the hand of EJ Turner, and ruled him unable to compete; his bout with Clarence Brown was scratched. Turner and his team protested to the state, but the decision stood.

The first 10 fights of the night ended with a finish. In the opening bout between Jonathan Bacon and Chris Dobbins, both guys came out brawling. Within the first 30 seconds, Jonathan Bacon had a cut over his right eye. In the second round, Bacon got the fight to the ground and used some nasty ground and pound to get the TKO win.

The next four fights would end via submission. Alex Tirado vs. Jeff Hoppas ended in the first round with Tirado locking in a guillotine. Tony Biernesser vs. Robert Perez was a little troublesome due to technical difficulties with the house lights in round 1. But in round 2, the house lights stayed off, and Perez would choke out Biernesser via rear-naked choke. In the fourth fight, Reshal Malik used his superior grappling to control Mykel Lawson, and eventually locking in the triangle choke in the second round. Two debut fighters, Mitch Stockdale and Mick Lengyl, would face off, and the more technical fighter won. Mitch Stockdale quickly took the fight to the ground, and locked in the rear-naked choke once Lengyl gave up his back in the first.

Shakeem Richardson vs. Garvens Brun was a fast pace bout, but one-sided. Richardson would use his reach advantage to land shots almost at will on Brun. Eventually, Richardson would get the TKO finish in the second round.

In the lone female fight of the night, Sam Harris came out with a barrage of punches on Sha Whittington’s face, but Whittington never went down. While tied up on the cage, Harris would somehow get her neck caught in a guillotine. Eventually escaping, Harris mounted Whittington and pounded her out. Next, Jonathan Walker would earn himself a submission win over Dequette Reed in the second round. It was a back and forth battle on the feet, but Walker would work his grappling game to secure the win.

The “Flashy Fighter of the Night” award goes be Morgan Oriahi. Throwing an array of unorthodox kicks at a high pace, Rodriguez was unable to continue after the first round. Rodriguez received a cut on his face, and the doctor would not clear him to continue. In the following fight, Kendrick Holloway came out fast and aggressive against Edward Gonzales, landing big shots, but Holloway would eventually slow down. In the third round he was still too much for Gonzales, and knocked out with one punch

The first fight to go to a decision was Antonio Townsley vs. Josh Wilson. Wilson used swift footwork and angles, all along with his reach, to keep the shorter Towsnley at bay. All three judges gave Wilson the nod.

Alonso Sanchez vs. Craig Grove ended in the second round. Sanchez seemed to be pushing the pace of the fight, but during an exchange, Grove would land a big uppercut to floor Sanchez. Soon after, the ref would step in to stop the fight. And in the co-main event, two undefeated fighters would clash. And someone’s “0” would go. It only took Danny Bennett one minute to have the ref step against AJ Hoffman.

The main event between Gustavo Gomez and Leroy Vasquez was one of the most entertaining five round brawls that anyone could watch. Both fighters left it all in the cage for the Garcia Promotions’ light weight title. Both fighters landed big shots throughout the fight, but it was Vasquez who used his wrestling to control Gomez on the ground. Vasquez would earn the decision win, and retain his title.

FOTN – Leroy Vasquez and Gustavo Gomez
KOTN – Kendrick Holloway
SOTN – Robert Perez

Click here for the photo galleries.

Complete Results:
Jonathan Bacon def. Chris Dobbins via TKO – Rd. 2
Alex Tirado def. Jeff Hoppas via Submission (Guillotine Choke) – Rd. 1
Robert Perez def. Tony Biernesser via Submission (Rear-Naked Choke) – Rd. 2
Reshal Malik def. Mykel Lawson via Submission (Triangle Choke) – Rd. 2
Mitch Stockdale def. Nick Lengyl via Submission (Rear-Naked choke) – Rd. 1
Shakeem Richardson def. Garvens Brun via TKO – Rd. 2
Sam Harris def. Sha Whittington via TKO – Rd. 1
Jonathan Walker def. Dequette Reed via Submission (Armbar) – Rd. 2
Morgan Oriahi def. Michael Rodriguez via TKO (Doctors Stoppage) – Rd. 2
Kendrick Holloway def. Edward Gonzales via KO – Rd. 3
Josh Wilson def. Antonio Townsley via (Unanimous Decision)
Craig Grove def. Alonso Sanchez via TKO Rd. 2
Danny Bennett def. AJ Hoffman via TKO – Rd. 1
Leroy Vasquez def. Gustavo Gomez via (Unanimous Decision) – Retains Lightweight Title

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.