Invicta FC 20 Championship Bout Between Tonya Evinger & Yana Kunitskaya Result Overturned To No-Contest

Invicta Fighting Championships has been informed by the Missouri Office of Athletics that the result of its bantamweight championship bout between Tonya Evinger and Yana Kunitskaya at Invicta FC 20 has been overturned.

During the bout, Kunitskaya caught Evinger in an armbar. To attempt an escape, Evinger stepped on Kunitskaya’s face, which is a legal move; you can place your foot on an opponent’s face as a method of defense as long as you do not stomp on the face. The ref, not knowing the rules, warned Evinger, then repositioned the fighters. This allowed Kunitskaya to gain better leverage, and then the tap.

Following the event held on Nov. 18 in Kansas City, Evinger filed an appeal with the Missouri Office of Athletics and today the result of that appeal was decided. Ruled on fight night as a submission victory for Kunitskaya, the bout result has now been declared a No-Contest.

As a result, Evinger will remain the Invicta FC bantamweight champion.

Invicta FC President Shannon Knapp added that the promotion is “working on scheduling a potential rematch” of the bantamweight championship bout between Evinger and Kunitskaya as soon as possible.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.